TRAVEL TO GREECE | Day Zero

The King and I at the Philadelphia Airport 🙂

My journey to Greece started on Thursday with a 8am flight from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, to Boston, Massachusetts. With a several hour layover ahead of me once I landed in Boston, I got some travel suggestions from a couple airport employees and headed downtown via bus. Being in Boston for the first time that I actually remember (aside from a few mind-numbing daytrips to the Whole Foods an hour away as a child) was really fun and a bit sentimental.After stopping in at Freshii for breakfast and a phone charge in the morning, I headed down to the local shopping district where I picked up some last minute items for my trip at Primark. One item I’m really thankful for is the little lightweight rain jacket I picked up, which came in handy during the rainstorm on my second day in Greece! With the help of a couple Primark employees, I made my way back to the airport via the subway, where I had to restrain myself from hopping off at the aquarium stop for fear of missing my flight. I think my time navigating Philly and SEPTA for the last few years has definitely paid off, because I was able to Boston (and the rest of my trip) relatively easily!

South Station in Boston

From Boston, I took a long overnight flight to London Heathrow, where I learned that if you tell an airline attendant that you’re gluten free, they literally won’t serve you anything other than salad :/ Once in London, I had my first experience with swindling airport currency exchange businesses, but it was mostly worth it for my English Breakfast and Mango Ginger Smoothie at Wagamama, especially since I’d only been served salad on my overnight flight! 

English Breakfast at Wagamama in London Heathrow Airport

My favorite part of the London airport experience was getting to see one of my favorite brands, Ted Baker London, in London (even if it was just a store in the airport), and I’m just as in love as ever.

Flying out from London was fun because even though it was gloomy when I left, as soon as we got above the clouds, it was like a completely different world! It’s a bit basic, but it was just a nice reminder that even though we may only see clouds in our lives, once we get past that, there is the sun. The rest of trip I’ll cover in my Day One post 🙂

View from under the cloud cover in London
View above the clouds!

Leave a comment