GREECE | Day Five

Sunrise from the kitchen window

On Tuesday, I spent a few hours in the morning at the Threads of Hope office working on one of four Weekender bags currently in production. Around 11:30, Cecilia and Ellen and I hopped on the metro and went out to run errands in the Fabric District. They took a few minutes to show me around the store where they get their supply of fabric, a small shop with a selection of cotton fabrics in mostly neutral tones. As we moved on, we stumbled onto a small shop specializing in rope and cording, where we grabbed some woven rope for bag handles. Our next stop was at the machine shop, where we picked up an overlock machine that had been serviced the day before. I don’t have a lot of pictures from the day, but it was interesting to see how different some of the machine models here are from the US ones! 

After getting back from our little excursion, we had about an hour left before the end of the workday, which I spent working on my bag before getting to chat with Cecilia about her long-term goals for the business and for me. Being able to get some time with her was a big help and gave me a better idea of where I can best help at Threads of Hope. I’m excited to say that she and I have some organization projects already planned for the summer now, and I’m hoping to connect her with a few people who can also help with reaching the long-term goals.

Once the workday was over, Ellen and I spent some time back in the city in the shopping district (nearby the fabric district and downtown Athens by the Acropolis). Lunch was at Avocado, a vegan restaurant downtown, where I ordered a pumpkin soup that gave some validity to the “basic white girl” pumpkin-everything craze.

Shopping in Greece was really kind of different – I was a bit disappointed to learn that clothing is a bit more expensive here than in the States. However, I’m a self-professed cheapskate, so it might just be me! Many of the shops and boutiques we went into had a distinctly European feel, with selections of desaturated neutrals and lots of ruffles and stripes. I was pleasantly surprised by the focus on fabrics – the materials here seem to be much better quality and have such a nice hand! As usual, I was drawn to the accessories (i.e. shoes and bags) but was warned that they tend to be overpriced in Greece, and didn’t end up purchasing anything.

After spending a few hours out with Ellen, we parted ways and I rode the metro back on my own for the first time! I’ve never been so grateful for my time on public transportation in Philly – I hate to say it, but it’s prepared me well, especially since public trans almost anywhere else is a million times better and easier than SEPTA!

The day ended with takeout and the last two episodes of the week in our TV show. The food (as usual) was amazing, and I’ll definitely be looking for recipes for some of the meats when I get back home!

Leave a comment