GREECE | Day Eight

My last day in the office was spent getting an organization project started. I’ve been hoping to create a visual binder of all the bag styles Threads of Hope offers, complete with technical sketches, cutting instructions, and fabrications for each style, and I was able to get that going with the Weekender style today!

Technical sketches and cutting guides for the collection binder

During the lunch break, I grabbed a bite to eat from a bakery across the street, where I picked up a Greek yogurt parfait before heading back to the office for a debrief with Cecilia. I’ve really been enjoying the interior design here – all of the cafes and bakeries are so spacious and unique – quite a difference from the popular cookie cutter chains we have in the States!

An array of treats and confections at the bakery

Post-debrief, I had some time in the workroom to wrap up my work for the week. One of the girls picked up where I left off on my bag while I worked on my other project, and even without the shoulder straps, I have to say it looks pretty great! 

The (almost) finished Weekender bag!

At the end of the day, I said my goodbyes to Ellen and the remaining ladies, and Cecilia’s friends who were visiting for the day were sweet enough to get a picture of the three of us!

Ellen (left) with me and Cecilia (right) in the workroom

After getting back from work, I took some time for an afternoon nap, and then headed out with my host family’s mother and her oldest for some last minute shopping. On our way out to the tram stop, we took a detour into Panagitsa, the neighborhood church, where I spent a few minutes observing the Friday night mass and taking in the architecture.

Outside entrance to Panagitsa Church

The inside of the church was just as impressive as the outside, and was covered in beautiful Byzantine style wall paintings that looked like they had recently been restored.

View of the church interior from the side entrance

Once we got into the shopping area via tram, I was greeted by store after store of fun clothing! We settled on Tally Weijl, a Swiss chain store where we spent a good portion of the night trying on different pieces. I was so excited to find some jeans that actually fit me (so thankful for the smaller European sizing), and took advantage of the opportunity to stock up on some go-to pants that I can’t wait to wear!

Mini shopping haul!

The second store we peeked into specialized in leggings, tights, and socks, and had some a really awesome selection of jeans embellished with everything from embroidered patches to pearl beads and quirky quotes.

Life is too short to wear boring clothes ❤️

Our last few stops included a boutique bursting with character and hand-painted clothing, novelty textures, and wild prints, as well as a nearby grocery store, where I picked out some Greek staples to bring home as souvenirs!

One of many fun ensembles dressing the mannequins

Our girl’s night venture out was such a fun ending to the week, and I really loved having the company and souvenir-shopping expertise for the night! I’m honestly so grateful for my host family’s hospitality and generosity, and I’ve loved being able to get to know them and their children better over the past several days! As I prep to fly out tomorrow, I know will be packing some truly fond memories with me that will last a lifetime. ❤️❤️❤️

Final nightfall over Athens

Leave a comment